Chakras are the concentrated energy centers of the body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being. Each possessing its own color and vibrational frequency, these wheels are the catalysts of consciousness and human function. They govern various emotional issues, from our survival instincts and self-esteem to our ability to communicate and experience love.

Below is a list of the major chakras and their basic properties.

Base or Root Chakra.

It is related to survival, security, and is the closest to the earth, resting at the base of the spine. The color associated with it is red. It is naturally associated with the element earth. To keep this chakra healthy, exercises such as dancing, jogging or jumping are beneficial. We should see if our security needs are being met, and take our power to create our own security in our lives so that our world is a safe and enjoyable place for us. It’s message is, “I exist”. Live your life proudly.

Sacral Chakra

This chakra is related to sensuality, sexuality, and desire for pleasure. It is in the lower abdomen and it’s color is orange, associated with the element water. Loving partnerships, and yoga can enhance the function of this chakra.

This chakra says, “I desire”. Live your passion, whatever that may be. What are your dreams? How do you desire to live? Claim your dreams and go out and make them a reality – give birth to your dreams.

Solar Plexus Chakra

It’s color is yellow, and it is related to our power in this world. It’s natural element is fire, and this is where the “fire in your belly” term derives from. An overbearing solar plexus chakra (one not in balance with the other chakras in your system or one where your energy is solely focused) can result in obsessive-compulsive control. A third chakra, or solar plexus chakra, with a healthy flow allows you to control your destiny, feel your power and accomplish your dreams. The message of the third chakra is “I control”. Go forth and control your own destiny and happiness – you deserve it!

Heart Chakra

Green is the color of this chakra and it relates naturally to love and compassion, being at our heart center. This fourth chakra is associated with air. Healthy relationships, pets, family, even appreciation of beauty and nature enhance the health of this chakra.

“I love”. Let your heart energy flow freely in and out. Be open to receiving the love that is available to you now, the free-flowing love that is your birthright. Sense your Reiki family around the world – feel the great love that you all share and that you selflessly emanate into this world. Shine the love that you are.

Throat Chakra.

The throat center or communication center is where you speak your truth in this world. It’s color is blue. When this chakra is flowing at optimum levels, you have the ability to ask for what you need. You also reflect your truth in the world through this chakra though your communication. Singing, chanting and breathing exercises can enhance the health of this chakra. The message of the throat chakra is “I express”. Do not suppress your own beautiful voice. Speak your truth, sing your joy, emanate your love through the vibration of your words.

Third Eye Chakra.

The natural color of this chakra is indigo. Insight, intuition, awareness and guidance are the properties of this sixth chakra. This chakra, located between the eyebrows, says, “I am the witness”. Meditation and visualization exercises can assist the healthy flow of this chakra. Be open to your inner guidance. Listen to your thoughts, they will assist you on the right path.

Crown Chakra.

It is the silence between the space and represents spiritual connection. It is associated with violet or violet-white light, a color many Reiki practitioners are drawn to and use in their work and meditations. Located a little above the top of the head, it represents union, bliss, the knowledge of being at one with all. Cosmic consciousness and peace are the frequency at this chakra. “I am that I am”.


Balancing chakras, or learning how to how to unblock chakras, can be approached in a wide range of ways. We’ll look at some of the most commonly used and the most powerful. You can use them in conjunction, or you can pick one or two that best suit your needs.

EFT For Chakras

EFT, the emotional freedom technique, can also be used to balance the 7 chakras. EFT has proven extremely effective for people who struggle with conventional forms of therapy. Plus, it can be done without any special expertise or equipment.

In brief, EFT (which is sometimes simply called “tapping“) involves lightly touching areas on the body that are correlated with energy centers. While you tap your fingers on the appropriate energy center, you focus on the issue you’re experiencing and on the goal you have in mind.

EFT for chakras is reasonably straightforward and intuitive. For example, if you have done a chakra meditation and realized that there is a blockage in your third eye chakra, tapping on the area between your brows can release tension and promote effective energy flow. As you do so, visualize the glowing energy center growing brighter and moving faster, just as you do during your chakra meditation technique.

Meditation For Chakra Healing

This meditation begins with the basic meditation process we’ve already explored above. It can further be adapted for each of the 7 chakras.

As you work through each of the stages, notice whether any area feels uncomfortable. You may also notice difficulty in picturing the movement of any of the spinning spheres of light. If so, you’ve found a blockage. Focusing your sustained attention on this area can help to rebalance it.

First, place a hand on the area. Next, picture its negativity or tension draining away. Imagine the universe pouring increasingly bright light into the blocked chakra. Alternative visualizations involve deliberately increasing the speed of the light rotation at that chakra. This may take some time and concentration if the chakra is significantly blocked.

Visualization For Chakra Healing

Visualization is quite possibly the most powerful tool of all. Sitting in meditation, visualise drawing energy up from the centre of the earth and cleansing each energy centre, with the relevant colour, sound and frequency.